Miles Franklin Literary Award long list announced

The long list has just been published and includes the Indie Award winner for 2009, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey.  The full long list is:

Figurehead by Patrick Allington
Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey
The Bath Fugues by Brian Castro
Boy on a Wire by Jon Doust
The Book of Emmett by Deborah Forster
Sons of the Rumour by David Foster
Siddon Rock by Glenda Guest
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett
The People’s Train by Thomas Keneally
Lovesong by Alex Miller
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey
Truth by Peter Temple

Miles Franklin judge Morag Fraser said the blend of authors showed new and award-winning writers continued to expand Australia’s understanding of its own culture. “The newcomers stand alongside some of the great names of Australian literature – writers who have helped define Australian culture and deepened our understanding of ourselves,” Professor Morag said.

The shortlist for the $42,000 prize, won last year by Tim Winton, will be announced next month.

The winner will be announced on June 22.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s